Lucas County Sheriff’s Office
1622 Spielbusch Ave
Toledo, OH 43604
Carry Conceal Procedure and Information
- Fill out the application form completely;
- Read the Ohio Concealed Carry Law Manual provided to you;
- Obtain a Certificate of Competency from an NRA or Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission approved firearm training course;
- Obtain a passport size, color photograph of yourself taken within the past 30 days.
In addition, you must pay a non-refundable fee as follows:
- If you have been an Ohio resident for at least the past five years, the application fee is $67.00
- If you have been an Ohio resident for less than the past five years, the application fee is $91.00.
- The fee must be in the form of cash, cashier’s check or money order. No personal checks will be accepted. You will be notified within 45 days of the application date to return to the Sheriff’s Office to pick up your permit. You also will be notified if you are ineligible for a permit.
- Parking in front of the Sheriff’s Office and the opposite side of the street is prohibited as those spaces are reserved for Sheriff’s Office vehicles.
- Applications are accepted Monday – Friday between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.
Under no circumstances are you allowed to bring a firearm into the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office. Individuals bringing a firearm into the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office are subject to arrest and prosecution.
Carry Concealed Weapon License Renewal Process:
- The Ohio Revised Code provides for the renewal of a Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license 90 days prior to and no later than 30 days after the license expires. This provides a 120 day window during which the licensee may begin the renewal process. If the licensee fails to initiate the renewal process within the 120 day period, the CCW license will expire and will no longer be valid.
- To renew the CCW license, the applicant must present a new application, including all of the addresses from age 18 and verification that the applicant has re-read the CCW pamphlet. The applicant will also be required to submit to fingerprint verification for a background check. The cost of a renewed CCW license is $50.00 for Ohio residents of more than 5 years, and $74.00 for Ohio residents who have not lived in Ohio for 5 years.
- Upon the successful completion of the background check, a new license will be issued with the original license number with a new date of expiration that is 5 years from the date of the renewal. During the renewal process, the current license will remain valid, but must be surrendered to the Sheriff’s Office upon issuance of the renewed license.
In order to renew your license for the first time, you must submit proof of competency certification. Proof of certification may take either of the following forms:
- A previously issued Ohio concealed carry license. The license may be either expired or currently valid.
- A competency certificate from your instructor. There is no longer a time limit from the day you completed your class to the time of your first renewal.
- If you have previously renewed your license and are renewing for a second time, you need to present proof of renewed competency certification. The renewed competency certification must attest that you are range competent. To obtain a renewed competency certification, you do not need to attend the entire course, class, or program that you initially took to obtain your license. The renewed competency certification must be dated and signed by an instructor. It must attest that you are range competent.
*Information obtained from Lucas County Sheriff’s Website on 04/22/2013