Morrow County Sheriff’s Office
101 Home Road
Mt. Gilead, Ohio 43338
The hours are Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. for background checks and CCW licensing and renewal. No Appointment is necessary.
Fees for BCI and FBI fingerprints are as follows:
- $25.00 for BCI Only
- $30.00 for FBI Only
- $55.00 for both BCI/FBI
Please know what type of background check you need when you come to the Sheriff’s Office. You also need to bring your driver’s license with you.
For juveniles being fingerprinted: You must bring your parent or guardian with you at the time of fingerprinting. You must also provide documentation to prove your identity: i.e. birth certificate, driver’s license, social security card, or school identification with picture.
CCW Licensing and Renewal
- To view a copy of the CCW booklet from the Attorney General: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Law-Enforcement/Concealed-Carry
- Effective July 18, 2009, the fees to obtain a CCW license/renewal will increase:
If you have lived in Ohio for five years or more:
- New application: $67.00
- Renewal application: $50.00
- Emergency, temporary license: $37.00
If you have not lived in Ohio for five years, the fees are as follows:
- New application: $91.00
- Renewal application: $74.00
- Emergency, temporary license: $61.00
- Replacement license fee: $15.00
Please bring exact change – we do need keep cash on premises.
Items to bring with you to the Sheriff’s Office:
- Completed application – application must be the most current application, revision date of 09/09
- Copy of certificate – for new applicants only
- 2×2 passport type picture – for new applicants only
- Payment – we accept cash, money orders and personal checks.
It is the policy of the Morrow County Sheriff’s Office to ensure that a clear procedure for the issuance or denial of a concealed handgun license is established. Thereby ensuring the safety of our citizens in keeping unauthorized persons from trying to legally carry a concealed handgun and those lawful citizens in our community the ability to carry a concealed handgun, which is their constitutional right.
In order for Ohio residents to obtain a concealed carry license they must meet the following requirements, in accordance with Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.125(A):
- At least 21 years of age
- An Ohio resident at least 45 days and a resident of the county of application (or an adjacent county) for at least 30 days.
- Must have received a Certificate of Competency within 3 years prior to date of application for new CCW application or within 6 years for a renewal application, covering the training requirements or produce a document that evidences the applicant with 6 years immediately preceding the application date: (a) Is a retired law enforcement officer, (b) Is an active or reserve member of the US Military, (c) Has been honorably discharged from the US Military, (d) And through participation in above employment the applicant acquired experience in handling handguns and that experience is equivalent to Training Requirements.
- Applicant is not disqualified pursuant to criminal background check or mental competency check, or retired as a result of a mental disability. Also, the applicant is not prohibited by “Having Weapon While Under Disability”
- Must have a color photo taken within 30 days of application
- Attest that applicant has read pamphlet provided by OPOTC as specified and also attest the handgun shall be carried for a lawful purpose.
- Non-refundable fee at the time of application.
Anyone wishing to obtain a CCW license, must complete an application which can be picked up at the Morrow County Sheriff’s Office along with the “Ohio’s Concealed Carry Law” handbook.
CCW Prohibited Places of Carry
- Police Station, Sheriff’s Office or State Highway Patrol Post
- Premises controlled by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation
- Correctional institutions or other detention facilities
- Airport terminals or commercial airplanes
- Institutions for the care of mentally ill persons
- Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located
- Universities, unless locked or in the process of being locked in a motor vehicle.
- Places of worship, unless the place of worship permits otherwise.
- Child daycare centers
- Premises that dispense liquor. Concealed firearms are also banned in a room or arena in which liquor is dispensed for which a class D permit has been issued. A class D permit is generally issued to an establishment that sells alcohol for consumption on the premises. Be certain of the type of permit and whether liquor is being dispensed before you enter with a concealed handgun.
- Buildings owned by the state or any political subdivision. Buildings under the control of the state or any of its political subdivisions, such as counties, cities and the like also prohibit concealed firearms. This prohibition also extends to all portions of any building that is leased by the state government. For example, it would extend to the floor of a private building that is leased by the government. Additionally, libraries, which are often funded through a consortium of governmental bodies, are covered by the statute.
- School safety zones. Concealed handgun license holders must be especially cautious when entering school safety zones. A “school safety zone” includes a school, school building, school premises, school activity, and school bus. For purposes of this statute, a school includes everything up to the property boundary. Under the law, an offense is within the vicinity of a school if it is committed within the property boundary or within 1,000 feet of the boundaries of any school premises.
- Any place with a No Carry sign posted
*Information obtained from Morrow County Sheriff’s Website on 04/24/2013